PDA

View Full Version : Any Gandolfi users out there?

James B. McCourtney
18-Apr-2011, 11:15
Hello. New to the forum.

I'm a professional photographer who uses two size formats (4x5 & 8x10) Gandolfi's.

I'm currently wrapping up a book project of 8x10 portraits.

Would love to share and resource information concerning the Gandolfi wooden field cameras. Thanks

Ole Tjugen
18-Apr-2011, 11:22
I'm here!

Three Gandolfis - 10x8" Precision, 7x5" Traditional, 5x4" Universal. That last one is from around 1930, and came to me in pristine condition with an uncut lens board...

James B. McCourtney
18-Apr-2011, 11:38
Since I left England years ago It's been difficult, when discussing formats, to switch the numbers around.

In the late 60's and early 70's, Fred Gandolfi custom built my two cameras and they've always had a special place for me. I use my 8x10 more often, particularily with my personal projects. What a beautiful camera.

On occasion I might need some minor repair or even an additional lensboard. So stay in touch and we can discuss the use of the camera or any particular projects.

Take care and thanks for responding.

Ole Tjugen
18-Apr-2011, 13:15
Some pictures...

First the little old 5x4" Universal, next the 10x8" Precision (which, when I opened it contained a newspaper clipping with Fred Gandolfi's obituary), and finally the 5x4" Variant which I no longer have. I took some good pictures with it, but it got replaced by a Carbon Infinity...

cjbroadbent
18-Apr-2011, 14:55
James, Nice to hear another (expat) Gandolfi user. I use a 8x10 Precision and a 4x5. I have some correspondence with the brothers before the accident. They were short of seasoned wood and brass fittings.
Did you notice that an 8x10 Sinar lens-board fits the Gandofi? I glued some felt to the rear of the board for a tighter fit. Also he big Gitzo low profile head matches both tripod holes in the 8x10 base-board. Two screws are better than one.