PDA

View Full Version : Linhof Technika III restoration help

Ari
12-Apr-2011, 08:59
Hi all,
I just purchased an old Technika III from a forum member, it needs some cosmetic work.
The leatherette and the bellows both need replacing, but included in the sale was a new bellows and the leatherette kit.
I was thinking that contact cement would be the best way to go for both, but I'm kind of new to this, so any suggestions from the commentariat are deeply appreciated.
And any other ideas (i.e. sanding the metal before applying leatherette) or suggestions would greatly help.
Thanks in advance

Juergen Sattler
12-Apr-2011, 12:04
Pliobond is the way to go. I have restored many Technikas by cutting my own leather for it and Pliobond works wonders, No need to sand down the metal parts - just make sure that all of the old leather has been removed.

Ari
12-Apr-2011, 12:27
Thanks, Juergen.
From my initial look-see, the leather strips are self-adhesive, so my chief concern is now on gluing the bellows. Pliobond still a good choice?
Also, the bellows are missing the rear frame, the one that glues to the back; I was thinking to make my own from thick hardened plastic or something similar since I can't cut metal here.
Thanks again!

Barry Kirsten
12-Apr-2011, 14:23
I've also done re-leathering in the past. The important thing about the adhesive is that it be heat-softenable to allow easy removal of certain strips needed to get access to adjustments for the rangefinder. (There may also be other covered ports, I can't remember.)

I don't know whether Pliobond can be softened, nor can I remember which brand of adhesive I used. I suggest you go to a leather supplier and ask for suggestions for this type of adhesive.

Barry.

Ari
12-Apr-2011, 15:08
Thanks, Barry.
The leatherette kit is from Linhof, already cut and self-adhesive.
I found Pliobond at a nearby hardware store, and would like to know if anyone has experience using that to glue bellows.