PDA

View Full Version : Technika to Crown Graphic lensboard adapter

altair
8-Apr-2011, 22:24
Is there such an adapter?

Reason I'm asking is because I have a Fujinon 135/5.6 mounted on a Technika-type board which I use on my Horseman monorail. Now I'm wondering if I can use the same lens & board on a Crown Graphic...will it fit? If not, then is there a suitable adapter?

Thanks in advance.

-Dani

dsphotog
8-Apr-2011, 23:14
The Linhof board is not going to fit a Crown , I haven't seen an adapt. but I suppose it would be possible to fabricate. It might be easier to move the lens between boards.

altair
9-Apr-2011, 10:35
Thanks for the reply, dsphotog.

I hate to admit this, but how do I go about transferring a lens from one lensboard to another? I'm very new at this :) I have a vague idea that I'm going to need a lens wrench, and I'm going to mess about with a retaining ring..other than that, I have no idea.

My shutter on the Fujinon is a Copal 0, so I assume I'm going to need a Crown Graphic lensboard with a Copal 0 hole?

dsphotog
9-Apr-2011, 12:35
Exactly, don't worry, it's easier than it sounds.
The only (very slight) challenge , is mounting the lens so the Crown's shutter release lever fires the shutter.
I use a Crown or a Super Graphic for most of my 4x5 shooting.
Happy shooting!

Ivan J. Eberle
9-Apr-2011, 14:49
If you're like me, you'll swap a lens over to another board about 3x before concluding it's a PITA to do in the field. So you'll likely not use one camera or the other, wind up buying a 2nd lens, or standardize on one board type (by getting/fabbing an adapter, or changing cameras).

Steve Barber
10-Apr-2011, 21:08
Moving a lens from one lens board to another is a pain and invites problems.