PDA

View Full Version : newbie advice what camera should i buy?

valeria pandolfini
7-Apr-2011, 16:34
Hello
I just joined the forum cause it really seems to be the best out there and I'm happy to have found it!
I'm VERY new to LF photography- but I am eager to learn and have been reading /watching videos for a while now (very overwhelming at first) but I thought it would be good to get some real advise from you guys as to which camera I should buy..

I will be using the camera in my studio only shooting B&W film. I'm looking for something simple and not over the top expensive (max $1500 in total including lens- suggestions about lenses and any other equipment I might need will be greatly appreciated!)

I would love any advice you guys can give me :)
thanks and wow I'm excited to get started!!!!!

Gem Singer
7-Apr-2011, 16:57
In what part of the world are you located?

Knowing that will guide us with our recommendations.

valeria pandolfini
7-Apr-2011, 17:05
I'm in San Francisco :)

Gem Singer
7-Apr-2011, 17:29
For use in your studio, look for a nice monorail. Previously owned 4x5 Sinars are going for a song these days.

Outfit it with a 150, 180, or 210mm lens from any of the big four manufacturers, a focusing loupe, dark cloth, several 4x5 film holders, a sturdy tripod, and you are in business.

It's very possible that someone on this forum can sell you a complete outfit for well under $1500.

valeria pandolfini
7-Apr-2011, 17:52
aw i can't post or even peek in there yet cause I just singed up... i kinda need one yesterday :-/

Mike Anderson
7-Apr-2011, 18:11
aw i can't post or even peek in there yet cause I just singed up... i kinda need one yesterday :-/

I would wait until you can get access to the for-sale forum here (1 month) before going off to ebay or keh.com to buy. The deals here are often better.

If you really need one yesterday I recommend keh.com.

...Mike

Gem Singer
7-Apr-2011, 18:22
Valeria,

What's the hurry?