PDA

View Full Version : D-76 v. HC-110

Mark Christopherson
28-Nov-2000, 10:27
I'm fairly new to LF. I've been shooting TMAX 100 and developing in D-76, which I understand is the developer Kodak recommends for the film. I've been getting some inconsistent results, but to be honest, this is likely due to problems hol ding all variables constant. A number of photographers that I admire, though, u se HC-110 rather than D-76. Why? Is there any real advantage to using either d eveloper? Thanks in advance for any information.

William Leviit
28-Nov-2000, 10:58
Although I'm not experienced with HC-110, I do know that the developer reccomended by Kodak for T-Max films is T-Max developer, either the one shot or the RS version.

N Dhananjay
28-Nov-2000, 11:05
D76 is a solvent developer - the high sulfite content actually dissolves some of the silver and then replates it - a process that reduces perceived graininess. HC110 is also supposedly solvent but is generally classified as an acutance developer. D76 will probably give you finer grain but lower sharpness. HC110 will more likley create sharpness increasing acutance effects at the expense of somewhat coarser grain. LF folks are generally less concerned about grain. In my opinion, I don't think sharpness is as big an issue either and I think LF folks choose developers based on the gradation it can yield (loosely, the shape of the characteristic curve). HC110 can yield a variety of results based on dilution and agitation patterns. It is availabe as a liquid. All of which makes it very convenient and eeasy to use. I would deefinitely urge you to go through the Film Developing Cookbook by Anchell and Troop. Good luck. DJ

Doug Paramore
28-Nov-2000, 12:18