PDA

View Full Version : Long Exposure

David Solow
6-Apr-2011, 10:39
Hi All,

Newbie here, again. I have a client that wants a shot of a downtown building at night. It's about 15-20 stories tall. I will be shooting Fuji Pro 160S, with a 75mm f/4.5 apo-grandagon lens on a 4x5 Sinar P2. If I want to have the building and the forecourt in focus, I'll need to stop down to at least f/16. The exposure reading could be in minutes. What is the reciprocity factor. I have been reading Ansel Adams, "The Negative," which gives really long reciprocity factors for B&W film, as most of you know. If a B&W neg reads 100 sec on the meter, he shoots 1200 sec. I know color neg film has a shorter reciprocity factor, but is there a scale I could use to test around. Has anybody shot night scenes with this film?

Thanks in advance for your help,
David

David de Gruyl
6-Apr-2011, 11:14
Fuji says in the Pro 160S datasheet (http://www.fujifilm.com/products/professional_films/pdf/pro_160s_datasheet.pdf) to open the aperture by 1/3rd stop for exposures over 4 seconds. To tell you the truth, this seems like a small adjustment.

I wonder, however, if you are looking at the reciprocity failure for Tri-X, which is horrible.

vinny
6-Apr-2011, 12:47
Did you try searching fuji pro 160s reciprocity? Google

Sascha Welter
7-Apr-2011, 07:07
IIRC Fuji gives reprocity information for 160S up till 32 seconds only. After that there are some "generic" reciprocity for color film tables out on the web. With color neg film, err on the side of overexposure.

cjbroadbent
7-Apr-2011, 08:54
My experience is with EPY, but I would suggest getting off the toe of the reciprocity curve where things a volatile.