PDA

View Full Version : besseler 45 mx

Robert Choi
9-Jan-1999, 13:22
I am looking at a couple of enlargers in a shop now.They are the Besseler 45M and 45MX.The 45 M are much newer and in better shape whereas the 45MX looks much much older and most likely require fixing the bellows.

My questions are :whether the accesories from current Besseler's stock can be used on these enlargers.and since they are both driven by motors,I wonder how long would these motors are expected to last. and if they finally stop working ,can they be fixed or replaced easily.

I guess because I have only used a relatively newer version of Saunders' enlarger (670DXL) ,it's a bit scary when I see those much bigger 4x5 enlargers.

Any information will be much appreciated.Thanks

richard w
9-Jan-1999, 15:05
I have a Bessler 4x5 ( I think it was called MCRX) that I have had for over 20 years. The motor works as good as new and any accessories that I need are readily available. I am not an expert on other enlargers but I do love this machine. RW

Sean Billy Bob Boy yates
9-Jan-1999, 20:31
FWIW

The Besseler 45 MX (?) was the original Zone VI enlarger. Picker thought it was the best one out there when he first published ZONE VI Workshop. Adams used one with a condensor and a cold light head and Alan Ross went so far as to design an 8 X 10 adapter head for it which Besseler now sells.My wife landed one of her yearly yard sale bonanzas two years ago while I was away. She saw a 4 X 5 enlarger with extras for sale for $500.00. Turned out it was purchased new in 1972 and used very little. The condition was incredible! I bought a 4 X 5 glassless carrier new (mi$take!) and have been very pleased with it ever since. New bellows can be had from Besseler, Universal bellows, Flexible Products and Great Western Bellows.

John Hicks
9-Jan-1999, 23:41