PDA

View Full Version : Bogen Super Pro 3 way head for 8x10: a good choice?

Emil Salek
20-Oct-2000, 17:57
I have been shooting 4x5" for 15 years and suddenly caught by a 8x10 virus. I pl an to buy a not too expensive camera, a Calumet 8x10C to start with and see whet her 8x10 is for me or not. I will almost surely upgrade to a Toyo 810M if I deci de to stay with 8x10. I know that the Calumet "beast" is rather heavy. The 810M is quite heavy as well. I have a very, very sturdy (and heavy) FOBA (Swiss made) tripod, which will do fine. I will now need a head. I have always worked with a 3-way head, which allows me to finely adjust my framing. This is a must for me. I would hate to have to reframe my images during printing because of lousy fram ing. Moreover, I will often use a 600 mm lens, which implies that the beast will be rather extended. Rigorous framing can take a while already with a relatively light metal Wista VX and a 720 mm Nikkor lens . I have no idea of how long it c an take with some 18 pounds of the Calumet with a lens or whether it is even pos sible. Can somebody advise me in my choice of the head? Would be the Bogen Super Pro 3 way head a good choice? What are the alternatives? Thanks to all.

Charlie Stracl
20-Oct-2000, 21:27
I'd look at the Bogen 3057 head if you want 3-way movements. It is supposed to handle heavy cameras, but I haven't tried it.

The smaller Bogen 3-ways would not likely work for 8x10.

You could consider Ries, but they are expensive.

Majestic heads, of course, are fine with very heavy tripods, but might weigh as much as the camera.

I will warn you: 8x10 contact prints are addictive.

Brian Ellis
21-Oct-2000, 01:31