PDA

View Full Version : Which hardware for photo editing ?

sanchi heuser
28-Mar-2011, 10:09
Which computer, monitor and software would you recommend
for photowork, especially editing files from 4x5 photos?

I'm a bit new in this field, made first experiences with
photoshop elements on my acer aspire one...
Now after some weeks it's sucks a little bit that I don't know
how the photo really looks
Forgot: spotting the dust is a real pleasure with that tiny monitor:D

Andi

photobymike
28-Mar-2011, 11:00
I bought a 7 years old PPC Quad MAC 2.5 for 500 bucks on ebay.... Its faster than any PC i have ever used. I added some memory and it really smokes with photoshop CS4. I open CS4 when the computer starts and editing and photo work is instantaneous. Even my sons Mac Mini is faster than my Sony I5 intel and he even runs windows programs on it.

Lenny Eiger
28-Mar-2011, 11:25
Which computer, monitor and software would you recommend for photowork, especially editing files from 4x5 photos?
Andi

Either a Mac or a PC. Lots of RAM, lots of Hard Drive. This kind of question is an invitation to a flame war.

Lenny

sanchi heuser
28-Mar-2011, 11:45
Either a Mac or a PC. Lots of RAM, lots of Hard Drive. This kind of question is an invitation to a flame war.

Lenny

Mac or PC, OK!
But which one?

Henry Ambrose
28-Mar-2011, 11:51
I'd get an new iMac with a big hard drive, add a bunch of RAM and go!

mdm
28-Mar-2011, 12:22
A computer is a comodity. Go for the cheapest option from an online seller.

Mike Anderson
28-Mar-2011, 12:30
I think the first decision to make is Mac vs. Windows. I would summarize the issue by saying Macs are easier to use (but if you're already familiar with Windows you'll have to relearn a little bit and maybe buy new software) but Windows machines are less expensive with more options.

This is close to a religious discussion, so we must be careful here. :)

...Mike

Preston
28-Mar-2011, 12:40