PDA

View Full Version : I combine photography with camera repair in California

Henry Paine Camera Repair
25-Mar-2011, 14:37
I want to introduce myself as a member of the Large Format Photography Forum Community since 2001 (better late than never). I am a large- and medium-format photographer using black & white film. I use the Zone System technique that was first developed by Ansel Adams and was fortunate enough to participate in a couple of his workshops before he passed away in 1984. I currently use a 5x7” Ansco and a 6x9cm Galvin as my primary cameras. My LF Profile describes my other photographic equipment and materials.

In 1975 I wanted to make a living in the field of photography, but did not want to be a commercial photographer, so I took a correspondence course in camera repair offered by SPT (Society of Photo-Technologists International), then started repairing cameras for a local camera store. My reputation spread by favorable word of mouth until I was able to open my own camera repair business.

My two interests—photography and camera repair—have meshed to make me knowledgeable in both areas and I feel lucky to be able to work with them every day of my life. I hope some of you will visit my website, www.henrypaine.com (http://www.henrypaine.com), and feel free to contact me with questions about my methods and technique in photography and/or camera repair.

Brian C. Miller
25-Mar-2011, 22:12
Hi, Henry! Let me guess, you're trying for lowest post count per year, right?

So what caused you to break your vow of silence after all this time? (reference, Life of Brian, Brian and Hermit (http://corky.net/scripts/life_brian.html))

You have some very nice images. We really ought to make a directory here of camera repair services. Every time someone asks for repair, it would be good to point them at one page.

Roger Thoms
25-Mar-2011, 23:10