PDA

View Full Version : Graflex camera options/decisions

Johnny Dilks
25-Mar-2011, 12:15
Hi Everyone!!

I am new on here, and have mainly been a hobbiest photographer shooting 35mm and 120 film for the past 15 years on and off. Many of my friends have moved into the digital realm and have almost abandoned film altogether it seems.
I however have (after lots of thought) decided to go the opposite direction. I am not a fan of sitting in front of a computer for hours, so I have decided to purchase a vintage 4x5 camera. I remember when I was a freshman in college, an exgirlfriend had a Crown Graphic 4x5 and really dug the camera and it's general layout. That was my first introduction to the 4x5 and was amazed with the detail /clarity that, that camera and the 4x5 was able to produce. I also really dug that (like a digital) you were able to see the image on the ground glass (even if it is upside down and backwards) before firing.
So with all of that said I have decided to purchase an old Graflex...my question is which one will best serve my needs. I shoot everything from historic interiors (which often require the use of wide angle lenses) to sports like surfing and shooting which require a fast shutter speed. I originally set out to but an early 50's Speed Graphic with the Graflock back but after researching them I discovered that the widest angle I could use was a 80 to 90mm lens which would be limiting. The plus is that the focal shutter speeds are ideal for shooting sports/action and it opens up a whole bunch of lens options.
The Crown has the wide angle advantage which I am definitely attracted to and my paying photography job is shooting historic interiors so this would pay for itself eventually.
The other camera that interests me is the Graflex Super D. I have never seen one in person and was wondering what the advantages and disadvantages of this camera are.
I'm not sure but I think the later ones come with the Graflok back.