PDA

View Full Version : Linhof monorail - Technikardan 45s or Kardan GT???

Henry Carter
25-Mar-2011, 11:26
This forum has provided me with much information and good advice over the years, and I need to reach out again for your help.

I have been using a 4x5 Master Technika for 10+ years, and there are times when I really wished I had a monorail. Given that I have many Linhof accessories and lenses, it would make sense to consider a Linhof monorail for architecture and urban landscapes.

I am working on a night project requiring long exposures (2 to 5 min), and a stable and rigid camera is a must. Tough the TK 45s is more portable, the Kardan GT is probably more rigid, albeit heavier and bulkier.

So the question is, which should I choose - portability (TK 45s) or rigidity (Kardan GT)?

Or is the TK 45s sufficiently rigid and the Kardan GT overkill?

If I travel with 4x5, the MT is the camera I would take, so the extreme portability of the TK 45s is less of an advantage (for me) over the Kardan GT, but if the TK 45s is sufficiently rigid for night photography, it would also be a great travel camera...

Many thanks for your advice!

Frank Petronio
25-Mar-2011, 13:00
Buying new or waiting for used? Because some the older Linhof monorails are quite a good value and probably just as sturdy as the GT.

I'll dare say that all the Linhofs are robust-right-solid and the best money is spent on a ridiculously heavy tripod....

Bob Salomon
25-Mar-2011, 13:29