PDA

View Full Version : Polaroid 405 on Sinar X

Alessandro V.
23-Mar-2011, 03:02
Hello,

my name is Alessandro, an Italian photographer now living in London.
I am completely new to LF photography so I would like to apology in advance for any silly question that I could possibly make in the future...
I thought a little presentation had to be done since this is my very first post in this forum even if I've been reading you for a while now.

I have just bought an used Sinar X and I have started experimenting with it.
I have tried to use a Polaroid 405 Back together with the camera but I did not find a way to use it in the vertical position as it seems impossible to me to remove the dark slide as there is not enough space to pull it out all the way. (I attach some images that probably will clarify what I am talking about).

Also, when I am inserting the back in horizontal position I've noticed that if I push it all the way in, to place the aperture of the back aligned to the centre of the ground glass, the back is not parallel to the ground glass anymore as there is a small dent on the front side of the 405 back that keep it up. If I try not to slide it all the way in, basically having the dent relying on the side of the camera, it seems to me as if the back is not centered with the camera.
I am sorry for my bad explanation but it's not easy to describe...

Thank you very much a lot for your help.

Alessandro

PS: I tried to search if there were other topics open for these problems and I've found something. However they did not cover all my problems and I did not get all of them. Thank you for your patience.

gary mulder
23-Mar-2011, 03:22
AFAIK the 405 back is not a slide in, but a graflock back. Therefore remove the screen frame and place the 405 and secure with the slides on the sinar back. Than you are able to place the 405 the other way around in vertical position. The 405 can not be used on the sinar in horizontal position.

uhner
23-Mar-2011, 06:16