PDA

View Full Version : first lens purchase advice needed

SolsticePhoto
7-Mar-2011, 19:44
newbie here

looking to buy first two lenses to get my 4x5 LF addiction started ;)

scrounging the used market -- key decision point is resolution and coverage. I found a couple of 90's and a 135 at KEH that look interesting. I would appreciate thoughts / comments on whether I am on the right track. If you have alternate suggestions or places to look for purchases I am also interested in those as well.

For the 90mm FL I am looking at either a
90mm F4.5 NIKKOR-SW, or
90mm F5.6 Super Angulon

for 135 I am looking at the 135, F5.6 APO-SYMMAR MC

Gem Singer
7-Mar-2011, 20:29
Look for previously owned lenses on this forum.

KEH is okay. Reasonably priced. Look for Ex, or EX+ rating. They have a liberal return policy if you aren't satisfied with your purchase.

Also, look at Mideast Photo Exchange (www.mpex.com). Slightly higher prices, but excellent quality and service.

Choose a 135 or a 150 as a first lens, from any of the top four lens manufactures. Nikon and Fuji are excellent LF lenses.

Hold off getting the 90 until later.

jp
7-Mar-2011, 20:34
The 90mm F4.5 NIKKOR-SW will fit your speed graphic and provide nice images, but it will be a tight fit and won't have much room for adjustment such as front standard rise. The back half of the lens is huge and won't have much room between it and the bellows. Something physically smaller would be more practical. I don't know much about the other lenses.

KEH is a good place to purchase, as is here, and sometimes ebay.

Kirk Fry
7-Mar-2011, 22:13
What is it that you are interested in photographing? kfry

Gary Tarbert
8-Mar-2011, 01:28
newbie here

looking to buy first two lenses to get my 4x5 LF addiction started ;)