PDA

View Full Version : Light Leak?

revdocjim
5-Mar-2011, 07:08
I'm wondering whether my film holder has a light leak. I got this result and the pinkish cloud like stuff in the top right corner looks like something other than clouds the more I look at it.

This was taken with my Wista 45N, Nikkor-W 180mm f/5.6 on Velvia 100F. I have 5 film holders and don't know which one this sheet was in, but I'm wondering if I have a leak. What makes me especially suspicious is that the pink coloring extends beyond the border of the photo and into the black perimeter on the developed film.

I'm completely new to LF photography so I don't even know how to go about inspecting my film holders for light leaks.

All comments, opinions & pointers appreciated!:)

http://www.pbase.com/revdocjim/image/132942963/original.jpg

Professional
5-Mar-2011, 07:28
I feel this is not a light leak, at the end you can remove that pink easily, but you have to shoot more and see if you will see same problem or worse later, i can't tell if that is a light leak issue or not, but maybe another members with more experiences will tell you.

Nice shot by the way!

Ken Lee
5-Mar-2011, 09:07
When pulling out the dark slide - and when returning it - it's a good idea to make sure that the camera back is firmly holding the film holder against the camera.

If the film holder comes away from the camera by a fraction of an inch, a gap can appear, and we will see a small light leak in the corner of the photo. It's not coming through the bellows. It's coming from behind the camera.

A good counter-measure, is to hold the camera back shut with one hand, whenever removing or replacing the dark slide with the other hand.

Douglas Henderson
5-Mar-2011, 09:12