PDA

View Full Version : 240 mm f5.6 focal lengths unavailable in copal 0

jgsnel
25-Feb-2011, 16:49
Dear photographers, I am new to LF photography. Can someone explain why larger focal length lenses with f5.6 exposure come with heavier shutters (like copal #1 or #3) supporting smaller minimum shuttertime (< 1/125 sec or < 1/200 sec) instead of 1/500 sec with copal #0?

I want to use a 240 mm f5.6 lens for portraits on location on a 4x5 inch camera using 5.6 for very small depth of fields. In bright light circumstances I expect to use 1/500 sec shuttertime otherwise I have to use very slow film. Moreover, the use of f/5.6 over for example a f/9.0 lens gives more than one stop brightness on the groundglass, which I do prefer more than the lesser weight of a f/9.0 lens.

If no such lens exists (240 mm f/5.6 copal #0), or if no such shutter exists (range up to 1/500 sec) that will support the lens, would you be so kind as to give me an advice on a good 240 mm f/9 copal #0 lens?

I read on Kerry Thalmann (http://www.thalmann.com/largeformat/future.htm) that the 240mm f9 Fujinon A is a good option.

Thank you for advising me.

With kind regards,
Jeroen Snel

Drew Wiley
25-Feb-2011, 16:59
About the closest thing I can think of would be a 250/6.3 Fujinon W with no.1 shutter.
The faster the max aperture, the bigger the lens needs to be relative to a specific
focal length. It's just part of the law of optics. And with bigger apertures at a certain
point come bigger shutters. The only thing in a zero shutter is the 240A Fujinon - a
wonderful lens but certainly not shallow depth of field due to smaller max aperture.
Also be aware that the shutters for these kinds of lenses aren't generally accurate or usable at higher speeds. You'd need flash sync.

John Koehrer
25-Feb-2011, 16:59
Just a guess here, but I'd suspect that the aperture is limited by the diameter of the shutter itself.
240/5.6=42.85mm
240/9=26.66mm

Dan Fromm
25-Feb-2011, 17:24