PDA

View Full Version : LF film selection?

stradibarrius
18-Feb-2011, 14:31
I am new to LF. I have just acquired a CC-400 4x5. I shoot a lot of MF and was wondering if the film selection is the same with LF as MF. By that I mean if were going to select TriX fot shoot in MF is there any reason not to use TriX in LF shooting the same scene under same conditions etc.?

Roger Cole
18-Feb-2011, 14:53
I am new to LF. I have just acquired a CC-400 4x5. I shoot a lot of MF and was wondering if the film selection is the same with LF as MF. By that I mean if were going to select TriX fot shoot in MF is there any reason not to use TriX in LF shooting the same scene under same conditions etc.?

Note that there are two versions of Tri-X, the 35mm and 120 version which has an ISO speed of 400, and sheet film with a speed of 320. The two are pretty different animals.

A few years ago at least both varieties were available in 120. Now I only see the 400 listed in 120 so I guess the 320 was dropped during my absence from photography. Back then, the 320 version was called "Professional" and the 400 was not, but now the 120 ISO 400 is called Pro. I'd bet they're still the same films, and the 320 IS different in more than just speed.

This is the only situation I know of where the same name is used for rather different films in different formats. If you used, say, FP4+ in 120 you'd find pretty much the same film in 4x5.

The selection of film, particularly in color, is not nearly as wide in 4x5. In B&W the situation is a lot better.

stradibarrius
18-Feb-2011, 14:59
Your right and I guess Tri-x was a poor example. I was excited to see that Tri-X320 was available in 4x5! I like it a lot better than Tri-X400.
so any other film the film choice for a days shooting would be the same regardless of the format you used that day?

Roger Cole
18-Feb-2011, 15:15