PDA

View Full Version : Alternative processes help please

Albert.Adderley
18-Feb-2011, 13:44
I have seen lots of different old ways of printing a negative. But a lot look like they are only done by contact printing.
The ones I have looked at and like are bromoil, gum bichromate, cyanotype, argyrotype, kallitype, and salted paper. I have a 4x5 sinar and was wondering if there is any easy way to enlarge the negative.
And print like normal onto the paper if not is there any other ideas in the group please.
Nothing to technical I am new at this just like the look of these processes.
Thank you
Al:confused:

Vaughn
18-Feb-2011, 16:03
Hello!

I suggest not worrying about enlarging and instead, dive into a process of your choice with 4x5 negatives. Easier and cheaper then making bigger prints.

Once you find a process you really like and have experience with, then deal with one of the many ways of enlarging negatives. Then you will also know what kind of quality is possible with contact printing a camera negative and you'll know what to aim for when making enlarged negatives.

PS -- and if you want an alt process that is like silver printing on massive steroids, try carbon printing!

Rod Klukas
18-Feb-2011, 19:29