PDA

View Full Version : Panoramic Camera

ThePenguin
18-Feb-2011, 09:44
I'm on the lookout for a panoramic camera (6x17) and have found these different models:

Linhof 617

Fuji G617 / GX617

Horseman SW617

Widepan WP617

Fotoman 617

The cheaper ones:

Gaoersi 617

Dayi 617

The one that really caught my attention:

Shen Hao TFC617

Has anyone had any experiense with these cameras? I'm really interested in the bottom three, they're a little bit cheaper. Please feel free to link some pictures taken with the cameras, and what kin of lens and film you're using.

IanG
18-Feb-2011, 09:51
I've been using a Gaoersi 617 for at least 3 years now and I'm very pleased with the results, build quality is good.

Ian

Lachlan 717
18-Feb-2011, 13:42
I have used the Fuji's and a Fotoman.

I currently own a DaYi and the Shen Hao.

Use the Shen for 90% of the 6x17 stuff I shoot as it is compact, light and I can use any of my lenses from 72mm through to 360mm on it.

The DaYi gets packed when I'm spending time working overseas and don't want the full kit. It's built like a tank, so no need to worry about packing it in Checked luggage. I just remove the lens and GG holder for packing in my carry on.

Bob Salomon
18-Feb-2011, 14:10
Which Linhof 617? The current interchageable lens version is the 617 S III. It also takes a shift adapter for 72, 90 and 110mm lenses and now has a darkslide for mid roll lens chages. A ground glass back is also available.
A Linhof 617 would be pretty old. That was the original version. There were several between that and the S III version.

rguinter
18-Feb-2011, 14:15
For example photos check this thread in the Lounge:

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=69756

All mine were done with a Fuji G617 that I bought new circa 1994.