PDA

View Full Version : cannot attach Da Yi 6x12 to Sinar F1

paulgabel
16-Feb-2011, 09:53
Greetings everyone, this is my first post.

I’m a beginner LF Photographer and I am requesting assistance as to how the DaYi 6x12 locks into the back of a Sinar F1. After rigorously searching technical books, this forum and other reputable sites, I still cannot visualize how it fastens. Is this a Graflok back? Is the DaYi meant to slip under the spring-back? I'm uncertain and now suspect I’m missing a component. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I've included images for your convenience..

kind regards.

mrkauffman
16-Feb-2011, 09:59
i am kinda/almost/not really sure that you must remove the rear part of the sinar back, where the GG is in order to mount the dayi 6x12 back, at least thats how i envision it being.

Joseph Dickerson
16-Feb-2011, 10:14
The Da Yi back will replace the ground glass after you have composed and focused the image. It will not fit under the focusing panel. The two silver "bars" need to be depressed and the gg will slide off, to the right if memory serves. Then there will be two sliders, one at the top and one at the bottom that will slide in to hold the film holder.

I have seen Sinars where someone has removed the locking sliders for some reason or other. Hopefully this is not the case with your camera.

I think you can download a Sinar F/F1/F2 manual off the web which might be helpful.

JD

Daniel Stone
16-Feb-2011, 10:39
Paul,

on the sinar(and other similar camera) backs, you need to push the silver pieces in the top and bottom middle part of the back, and IIRC, slide it RIGHT(while depressing). It should slide out and away easily.

you then take your 6x12 back, and place it where the g/g assembly used to be(before removing it), and there are (2) sliding pieces of metal, one on the top, and one on the bottom. Those are retain the back in place during exposure.