PDA

View Full Version : Tachihara 4x5 or Shen Hao

FredWilson
14-Feb-2011, 16:06
Ok, since I got my lens question answered in my previous thread, I'm kinda rethinking the used Tachihara that I've seen.
Now I'm leaning much more towards a Shen-Hao, specifically:

https://www.badgergraphic.com/store/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=2766

Any thoughts, one way or the other, to help guide a total newbee at LF photography.
I've done many years of 35mm film (slides most the original Velvia) and over a year now with digital so I'm not new to photography, but I want to give the 4x5 a shot now.
I do, mostly, landscapes (I live in the great SW, southern Arizona), nature and macro.

The Tachihara that I'm was/am considering is used, with no lensboard. The Shen-Hao would be new, comes with a lensboard (either way I'd need a lens/lenses, so that's a wash) and it's a little over $100.00 more than the used Tachihara.

Thanks,
Fred

Lachlan 717
14-Feb-2011, 16:20
Also consider the Shen Hao XPO. Longer bellow draw and the option to use Sinar bellows, lens boards and/or shutter.

I've used as short as a 72mm, and easily used a 360mm on it at 10-odd feet.

Bit heavier than the Tachi and the PTB, but not limiting. I'm very happy to add a little weight for the functionality I gain.

Heespharm
14-Feb-2011, 21:30
Either one... I can tell you my Shen hao is awesome.... But you can buy a used tachi or Toyo on these forums for cheaper... Take it from me... Be patient one will show up... The pounce on it

rdenney
15-Feb-2011, 05:41
Before making this decision, you might want to consider a more basic decision of what type of camera to consider. But first, you should a bit more carefully define what you will do.

How short will your shortest lens be? Will you ever use roll-film holders? What is the longest lens you intend to use? What do you mean by "macro"? Will you be carrying your camera in a backpack? How far from the car do you intend to go?