PDA

View Full Version : Filters... Heliopan v. B+W... which is better?

Leigh
1-Feb-2011, 10:26
I have limited experience with filters, most such work being with Hasselblad and the Hasselblad filters.

Which brand (in the title or others) would you consider best from an overall quality standpoint?

This is in the context of black & white contrast manipulation. I don't shoot color.

TIA

- Leigh

Eric Woodbury
1-Feb-2011, 10:37
I like 4x4 polyester and gels. Fit everything, cheaper, work better with wide angle lenses. Lee filter makes a universal holder.

Bob Salomon
1-Feb-2011, 10:41
Heliopan SH-PMC coatings reduce reflections to below 0.2% and repel dust and moisture. Heliopan uses thin brass, black anodized rings with front threads on their UV and B&W and warming and cooling filters. Their polarizers are the most neutral in the industry and are available with or without front threads. Their new HT Cir Pol passes 25% more light then a regular circular polarizer with the same effect. Their continuously variable ND filter goes from 0.3 to 1.8 density with no color shifts.

Now compare this to any other filters. Make sure to check how well it combats reflections.

Oren Grad
1-Feb-2011, 11:21
Something to chew on:

http://www.lenstip.com/113.1-article-UV_filters_test_Introduction.html

Leigh
1-Feb-2011, 11:34
Something to chew on:
Hi Oren,

Thanks for that link (although I don't pay for filters in Polish złoty).

I'm surprised and somewhat disappointed by the performance of the Heliopan filters. I had expected better from them.

Bob, you might want to review those test results, particularly as regards flare.

- Leigh

Darin Boville
1-Feb-2011, 11:35
Hmmmm. Heliopan didn't do so well in the lenstip tests that Oren linked to. From the summary:

"We were very disappointed with the Heliopan products. The German filters are not only very expensive, but they also presented very mediocre optical parameters."

Thoughts?

--Darin

Bob Salomon
1-Feb-2011, 11:56