PDA

View Full Version : BRAND NEW to Large Format, got a few questions

dremhmrk2
26-Jan-2011, 10:21
I just picked up a Cambo 4x5 camera, I'm assuming it to be the SC45.

It came with a Kapture Group sliding digital adapter back, but of course no capture device.

I'm trying to figure out what I need to do to get this camera ready to shoot film, or hopefuly, shoot some sort of instant film.

I do NOT have a ground glass or film holder on the back of the camera.

What exactly would I need to get into the instant film game?

What I assume I need is the Fuji PA45 to hold the actual film, and then this slides into... what? Does this slide into a generic ground glass/film holder?

What's a good way to get a ground glass/film holder? They seem to be almost as expensive as a lens!

Ideally I want to get rid of this Kapture Group sliding back (it's setup for a PhaseOne) and move back into film.

I have a lot of experience with full-manual photography (I have shot roughly 3000 photos on a broken Pentax K1000 with no light meter) and want to try this large format game.

Thanks a lot for all your help!

BrianShaw
26-Jan-2011, 10:31
I assume that the digital adapter is held ont the camera using the Graflock sliders so removing it might be easy. I don't know that for sure, though. It sounds like you don't have the spring part of the Cambo back but I saw at least one of them ebay the other day so replacing it might just be a matter of $$. That would be needed to focus (the ground glass) and to hold regular film holders.

dremhmrk2
26-Jan-2011, 10:38
I assume that the digital adapter is held ont the camera using the Graflock sliders so removing it might be easy. I don't know that for sure, though. It sounds like you don't have the spring part of the Cambo back but I saw at least one of them ebay the other day so replacing it might just be a matter of $$. That would be needed to focus (the ground glass) and to hold regular film holders.