PDA

View Full Version : Recessed Boards

david ashley kerr
9-Jan-2011, 19:22
Hi there everyone,

I am a landscape photographer and use a 4x5 Linhof Technika,

and am about to invest in a short lens to shoot a series in thick wilderness scrub,

After talking with some large format gurus, I have realised the required use of a recessed board on lenses 75mm and shorter is quite a frustrating element that I have not yet experienced due to only ever shooting 150mm and upwards..

So.. does anyone have any advice regarding the problems experienced with the use of a recessed board? namely, cocking the shutter [I can't move my copal 0 shutter inside the recessed board!] and adjusting shutter speed, aperture and so on.. Even with my weedy little fingers I cannot for the life of me reach inside the recessed board to adjust anything!

Any advice would be much appreciated, I am sure I am not the only person to come across this problem..

Regards

David-Ashley Kerr

www.david-ashleykerr.com

Gem Singer
9-Jan-2011, 20:13
Plastic swizzle stick from the local pub.

Makes a great instrument for reaching the shutter controls inside of a recessed lens board.

DanK
9-Jan-2011, 20:19
Chopsticks

Dan

Nathan Potter
9-Jan-2011, 21:11
Well I carry a hypodermic needle with the sharp tip sanded down so I don't inject myself accidently. But if you're obsessive there are right angle cable releases that work nicely - as I understand it.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

david ashley kerr
9-Jan-2011, 21:13
Ha!

I see.. . Swizzle stick, Chopsticks.. that will work for the shutter and aperture controls

But what about the lever to cock the shutter? I have heard of people welding the bulbous tip off a copal shutter..

Regards

DanK
9-Jan-2011, 21:29
I've also used a plain & simple pencil....the eraser works well - has plenty of grip to cock the shutter...

Beyond that and the chopstick (works equally well)...Good Luck

Dan

Roger Thoms
9-Jan-2011, 22:42