PDA

View Full Version : Large 1860s Salt Photo

williameik
8-Jan-2011, 10:58
Hello,
I am very new to the photography process and enjoy collecting old photographs. I have one that im having trouble with. Its a very large portrait 16 half by 21 and a half from 1860-65. From this time period how was it done? This photo is very flat.. On an angle I can see were an artist had sharpened differant areas of contrast like the eye's, hair and anything small at one time had to be really out of focus but when you look at it foward and not at an angle it looks very nice. I dont understand how in the 1860s someone could make such a large image. The subject lived to 1865 and was a personal family portrait. Thanks for the input,
William

Vaughn
8-Jan-2011, 11:26
Contact print from a mammoth plate camera.

Best I can do without seeing an image of it.

williameik
8-Jan-2011, 16:05
Thanks for your helping..very..much is there any more info that I can give. I was told it was a silver gel but how was it made, so large for the period. And how would they get a image on a plate that large. my title was wrong its silver gel have to run have to be somewere will type better next time...,,
Regards,
William

Vaughn
8-Jan-2011, 16:45
If it is from the 1860's, it is most likely an albumin print -- made from egg whites (instead of the gelatin now used in emulsions) and silver.

It would be a contact print -- not enlarged. So the negative t he print was made from was also 16x21.5 -- hence the name "mammoth glass plate camera". If you wanted a bigger print, you had to have a bigger camera!

This is before "dry plates" were invented, which were maunfactured and could then be stored and used as needed. These were glass plates coated this an light sensitive silver emulsion. Kodak eventually invented a way to coat flexible material (a film).

But back to what you might have.