PDA

View Full Version : close-up w/4x5

Jim Korczak
14-Sep-1998, 21:55
Greetings all,

I am not (yet) a LF photographer, but am very intrigued. Since I am a newbie to LF matters, please feel free to giggle at my question. I have been shooting 35 mm for about 20 years.

Specifically, I love to shoot landscapes and macro/close-up. My question is, do es the LF camera suffer from so significant a DOF loss that it is impractical to use for macro work? I am talking about magnification of 1:1 and higher. Is th e physical size of the box a significant limitation? Any input on using LF gear for this purpose would be greatly appreciated. I read all the article in the n ewbie section and none touched on this subject to my satisfaction.

The related factors of wieght and size with respect to portability do not concer n me as much as the images I can obtain. I am primarily a 35mm user, but shoot 6x6 with an old Yashica as well. I was almost convinced that I wanted to go MF until I realized that with virtually every published image I see in a magazine t hat had 35mm, MF and LF printed side by side, the 4x5 (or greater) image was the one that made me drool.

Sorry to carry on so. Thanks for any and all input.

Jim Korczak

Martin F. Melhus
14-Sep-1998, 22:23
For landscapes, and close up work with objects, I can't imagine a better choice than a LF camera.

For close up work, you can actually choose the focal plane; it doesn't have to be parallel to the film plane. Tilt and swing will accomplish this. It's all well defined by the Scheimpflug rule. For books, look at Steve Simmons or Jim Stone's books on using LF cameras, or look at the descriptive info on B&H's web site.

For wide angle landscapes, LF is pretty straightforward. For architectural work , shifts and swings are important.

The only problems that LF could pose for you are (as I see it, anyway)