PDA

View Full Version : I'm a noob and I need help please

nolan
25-Dec-2010, 16:53
I just bought a crown graphic with a xenar 135mm 4.7. The aperture ring is loose and it slides maybe two centimeters past f/32. Here's my noob question:

Is this normal?

Thanks.

-Nolan

lenser
25-Dec-2010, 18:00
Nolan, When you look through the lens (shutter has to be open) while turning the ring, does it go from full open and continue to close down evenly throughout the movement (to the end) of the aperture indicater distance? If so, you are probaly okay although two CM (almost an inch) seems quite extreme. Most of my large format lenses have some travel past the smallest marking, but not that much.

If it is truly loose, that would indicate a problem. There should be a slight resistance as you press against the lever and through the ovement in each direction.

nolan
25-Dec-2010, 19:15
Thanks for the reply. The lens closes down evenly from wide open to fully stopped down, but it continues to close as it passes f32. I guess my question is: is the lens closing smaller than f32 but the f32 marking is accurate, or is the lens at f32 when it is closed as small as it will go (2 cm past f32)? It is very lose, no resistance, so I guess is needs to be fixed.

lenser
25-Dec-2010, 23:31
Nolan,