PDA

View Full Version : Tripod head for Technikardan

MikeN
22-Dec-2010, 10:39
Hello, I'm new to LF and waiting for my new Second Hand Technikardan :) The camera is still being delivered and I've been doing some preparations to get all things together I need. One thing I wonder is the tripod head/mount for a Technikardan. I haven't found any information about this :( and hope some of you experts may help me.

Any suggestions on the requirements of such a head. Do I new 3/8- or 1/4-inch? Perhaps a recommendation?

Thanks!

Bob Salomon
22-Dec-2010, 11:21
The TK has a pair of 3/8" tripod sockets on the bottom of the main rail. The ideal Linhof head for a TK is the 003663 3-Way Leveling Head with has 360° rotation in 3 different planes. It is also very compact to keep the center of gravity low.

MikeN
22-Dec-2010, 13:44
Thanks Bob! ...one step forward :)

Gudmundur Ingolfsson
22-Dec-2010, 13:51
I use my Technikardan on a Manfrotto 410 head and I have done so for many years ! With the quick release it is very fast to set up and level. The 3 way Linhof level head is very nice too but a bit more expensive.

pdmoylan
22-Dec-2010, 18:51
I am partial to the Gitzo 1570M Magnesium 3 way head. Buy one with a cork not rubber cushion on the platform. This unit comes with both size tripod mounts .I have not done any comparisons with the Manfrotto, but this is less than 3 lbs and can handle 8x10 or in my case lenses up to 500mm on DSLR as well. Versatile for macro owing to the singular feature of a slot for moving the camera back and forth to focus when you loosen the tightening screw. Not as essential a feature for LF but very useful for DSLR and Medium Format macro.

Bruce M. Herman
26-Dec-2010, 16:11