PDA

View Full Version : British Landscape Photographers

Lisa Bevis
4-Jun-2002, 19:41
I'm studying photography at Aston Univerisity in Birmingham, England and my goal is to find a landscape photographer who uses meduim or large format and natural light rather than enhancing an image with the use of filters. I've ploughed thr ough lots of magazines here and they all feature the same old boring stuff by Ch arlie Waite, David Ward and Joe Cornish ect but all of those use filters extensi vley. If anyone can point me in the right direction I'll be very grateful. The only other thing is that he or she needs to be British. (the photographer, n ot the poster)

thanx. Lisa

Gudmundur Ingolfsson
4-Jun-2002, 20:03
There is this grand dame of British or for that mater European landscape photography: FAY GODWIN. There was also one of the worlds greatest photographers that made good photograps (unfiltered) of the British landscape: BILL BRANDT There is a catch though: They were both born in Hamburg, Germany. But great Britons still.

Matthew Runde
4-Jun-2002, 20:10
<a name="1">You may want to see the photos of Paul Cunningham.</a> He was one of PDN's 30 photographers this year. Check out www.pdnonline.com/ gallery/pdns30/2002 (http://www.pdnonline.com/gallery/pdns30/2002). Click on "PDN's 30" in the lower left of the popup window.

Matthew Runde
4-Jun-2002, 20:12
My code was partially destroyed, so don't copy and paste the URL that you can see. If you click on it, though, you will visit the correct page.

Lisa Bevis
4-Jun-2002, 20:15
A picture of a road, with a stop sign, or one of a a cow with some flats in the background is hardly my choice of landscape. http://www.djclark.com/godwin/gal11.htm Personally I think anyone who has eyes and a camera could do that! Lisa.

Lisa Bevis
4-Jun-2002, 20:23