PDA

View Full Version : What's the point?

Ari
17-Dec-2010, 09:44
No, I'm not thinking of jumping off a bridge, swallowing poison, or watching a Matthew McConaughey movie; this pertains mostly to architectural photography.
I'd like to ask, with the stitching and perspective control available in PS, and armed with, say, a 5D MkII and maybe even a tilt/shift lens, why would I or anyone bother shooting LF?
Am I carrying around all that gear for a small increase in image quality?
I have to correct in PS half the time as it is; I imagine this might get better over time as I'm a newbie to the precision involved with buildings, but I'd still have to use PS.
I shot four buildings yesterday from a moving car with my 5D, and I was able to correct all but one in PS in under 5 minutes each. When I go back with a tripod and a few minutes to spare, the photos will turn out much better, but still...
I've never been an advocate of "fix it in the mix", but it's quite tempting to try to work that way.

Brian Ellis
17-Dec-2010, 09:58
The main reason IMHO is that many people simply enjoy the whole LF photography process and experience. I certainly enjoy it much more than I enjoy using a digital camera though I use the digital camera most of the time now. But other than simply enjoying it there probably aren't a whole lot of really compelling reasons for maybe 95% of the people 95% of the time.

Kirk Gittings
17-Dec-2010, 10:02
For what purpose are you shooting the architecture? For commercial purposes in terms of workflow and meeting general client needs, I don't think there is any question that a FF DSLR with t/s lenses is superior. Thats what I make a living with. BUT you have to work carefully to maximize image quality including the distortion and artifacts that are introduced by serious PC in PS. Hence why good T/S lenses are invaluable. There is a ton about this on my blog linked below. For personal work, expressive b&w for gallery shows etc., I prefer the 4x5 VC.

Mark Stahlke