PDA

View Full Version : Leafscan 45, Sprintscan 45, Artixscan 2500: hi-res "desktop" scanner recommendations

Jonathan Taylor
16-Dec-2010, 10:25
Ok, I may well just use AgX for the moment, but I started a research process and I wanted to see it through.

I've been slogging my way through the archives for the past two weeks and found a lot of great info, but also began to get overwhelmed by all the bits and pieces, so I'm hoping some kind souls may be able to help me target some scanners to put on a watch list.

Here's my list at the moment:

Leafscan 45 from leafstuff.com
Polaroid Sprintscan 45
Artixscan 2500
perhaps an Eversmart or iQsmart
perhaps a Howtek
others?

Some more background info:

I've been shooting 645 and 69 very seriously for 4+ years, scanning on an Nikon 9000 with glass carrier, and printing Museo Silver Rag on Epson 4800, 3800, and now 3880 printers. I mostly use the Nikon software to get a NEF file in very wide scanner gamut. This gives me lots of room to work first in Camera RAW than in Photoshop CS5. I currently shoot roughly equal parts color neg and color slide (though I've shot a fair amount of black and white in the past and do have one current black and white project).

I want to find a 4x5 scanner that will let me replicate my current workflow as closely as possible. I have a budget of maybe $2000 for the scanner, plus an absolute maximum of $1000 for shipping, setup, parts, accessories, and so on. I had been planning on wet mounting on a v750, but the info here and the Collaborative Scanner Comparison has me pretty well convinced me that the v750 won't meet my expectations.