PDA

View Full Version : Jobo CPE-2 or other daylight solution for 5x7"

rannestad
16-Dec-2010, 07:02
I am looking for a daylight solution for 5x7" sheet film. I am new to this world and I am getting the pieces together before shooting my first image. The development of these films puzzles me. I am used to do rollfilm (35mm and 120mm) development in daylight systems, but I cannot find anything equivalent for 5x7" (only 4x5).

I have seen a Jobo CPE-2 for sale. I asked the guy about 5x7" film processing. He didn't know about it. I have searched for drums, and can only find the "Expert Drum" by Jobo. Unfortunately this drum is not compatible with the CPE-2. Are there another drum which fits?

I am not specifically looking for a jobo, but I would like a daylight solution for more than one sheet (6 would be nice, but fewer is also ok).

Any good advice in this matter? Thank you very much.

Bjorn

Denis Pleic
16-Dec-2010, 07:39
You can develop 5x7 sheets in drums other than (very expensive) Experts.
I'm reposting another link from today (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showpost.php?p=661226&postcount=8), from another thread - and the Apug link is to my story about making the "sheet" for processing 5x7 (and smaller) film in Jobo print drums, which can be gotten a LOT cheaper, and which can be used on CPE-2. At the time I wrote that, I still used the CPE2 (the one you say is for sale).

I recommend the CPE-2, since it's relatively small (doesn't take much space), and is still a good machine. If the price is not too high, buy it, and all the tanks/drums and small items that go with it (spare parts, rollers, anything the seller can find)....

Then you can develop 4x5 and 5x7 (or even bigger) film, with just a bit of ingenuity. See the above links.

Denis

Bob McCarthy
16-Dec-2010, 07:53