PDA

View Full Version : What shutter do I need for this lens ?

gliderbee
15-Dec-2010, 10:09
I have a Schneider-Kreuznach Syummar 1:5,6/150 1:12/265 lens (serial 9082111 if that means anything) with a retaining ring, but no shutter.

As I'm rather new to LF-photography (well, I have a camera for some time, but didn't use it much; picking it up now as I'm following courses at the local Academy), I'm not sure what shutter I should buy for this lens, and where I should buy it.

Any help much appreciated.

Stefan.

John Kasaian
15-Dec-2010, 10:28
You might check out SK Grimes website. IIRC there is a lot of good info on what fits which. If your threads aren't specially cut, it should fit right into an appropriate size Copal or Prontor but maintaining correct spacing will be critical as well as maikinig a correct f-stop scale.
Once you know the size, you might find deals on lenses salvaged from Polaroid copy cameras on ebay---the price for a lens with the shutter is usually far less than the price of a new copal, so you may be able to swap out the elements(or not---it depends) Jim Galli is the undesputed master at this sort of stuff. You might PM him---he might even have a shutter to sell you, freshly mined from his Area 54 Nevada Lens Mine :)

Dan Fromm
15-Dec-2010, 11:33
According to Schneider, #1.

gliderbee
15-Dec-2010, 11:59
Hello John,

Thanks for your answer.

Why should I halve to make a correct f-stop scale ? On the lens, there are two f-stop scales, one for 150mm, from 5.6 to 45, the other for 265mm, from 12 to 45. Aren't these correct then in certain circumstances ?

As for Polaroid copy cameras, never heard of them; I just googled them, but there's a lot of non-info showing. Could you point me to a auction on eBay (as an example; no guarantee from you of course) that might have a shutter I can use ?

I PM'd Jim Galli.

Thanks,
Stefan.