PDA

View Full Version : Sinar Norma : focus knob adjustment

peterman
12-Dec-2010, 14:08
Hello there,

I've just found this fine forum, on a desperate search for instructions on Sinar Norma fine focus adjustments .

The Norma was the first large format camera I've ever used , back then when I was a photographer's intern; now being a photographer, my workhorse is the Sinar P2, along with an F2 .

Recently I purchased a Norma , in decent condition, it just needs a little attention here and there, in particular the rear focussing knob has some play and isn't as smooth as I'd like it to be (the front counterpart is perfect, of course).

I have found links here for a 'CLA' guide and scans of the manual, good stuff, only it doesn't cover adjusting the focussing assembly .
There also is a commercial video guide, it's just a little pricey in my humble opinion.

Would anyone be so kind to point me to instructions, if there are any, or give me some hints ?
I've taken apart most of the camera, located most screws and bolts and have kind of an idea of what they do, only the focus parts remain a mistery to me.

Thanks in advance,
Peter

PS: English isn't my first language, sorry for poor wording .

peterman
13-Dec-2010, 07:58
I found some more information on adjusting the Norma fine focus : Don't touch it if you don't know what you are doing !

Naturally, I didn't listen to this sound advice, and did some more exploring.
Many thanks to the kind person who put together the Sinar Norma CLA guide, I'd never have gotten that far without it .

The rear standard fine focus knob has some play, which I wanted to fix.

After lots of head-scratching, I chose to loosen screw #A a tad, and tighten set screw #B a little , assuming that would push the cogs of the focus rod closer to the cogs in the upper focus track assembly - and it actually removed some of the play !