PDA

View Full Version : Difference between Apo Sironar-W and Sironar-S

PaulSchneider
10-Dec-2010, 21:39
Hi guys,

I have a small question with regards to LF lenses. I'm pretty new to this subject matter, so bear with me...

I gathered that the Sironar-S line of lenses represents the pinnacle of LF lens design. This in terms of sharpness and chromatic aberration control - all by employing ed glass and aspheric production processes.

Now I read about those sironar-w lenses. They have an 80 degree image circle and were multicoated. According to the 8x10 lens guide on this site, their used value is more than that of sironar-s lenses.

My question: Is the Sironar-S superior when shifts are to be neglected in terms of sharpness? Is the Sironar-W more akin to the older N-design or is it a wider S-design?

Why has it been discontinued, and why does badger sell those for almost 5k?

Kind regards for explaining to me the lens hiearchy!!

Paul

Frank Petronio
10-Dec-2010, 22:16
The W- came before the S-series. I don't know why they discontinued the W-series but perhaps because the S- did nearly as much coverage and was less expensive?

In practical use, the sharpness of the W-, S-, and even the less expensive N-series, Sironars are all more than sufficient -- there are probably "weaker links in the chain" of your workflow that mitigate the almost indecipherable, microscopic differences in resolution.

The reason you would want an S or W lens - besides bragging rights - is because you need the extra coverage. Perhaps for situations that call for several inches of front rise. Or stepping up to a larger format. But for most 4x5 traditional type photographers, a $300 used 150mm Sironar-N will make as great a picture as a S- or W-series lens. You would probably want a 150mm Sironar-S for 5x7 however.

PaulSchneider
10-Dec-2010, 22:23
Hello Frank,