PDA

View Full Version : Ebay electric shutter vs. e.g. Packard shutter

rannestad
10-Dec-2010, 13:40
Hi

I am totally new to the world of large format. I want to explore the world of alternative and vintage photography. I have found an old 5x7" camera, and have got a poloxer 210 mm lens, without shutter. I am also looking for vintage lenses, e.g. petzvals. So I have to find a solution for a shutter.

I have searched this forum and other places and found that packard shutters should work for my needs. I have also found this shutter on ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280530014100&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Seems to be same basic construction, but differently made. The ebay type needs some external control, which I can make myself. I actually think it is an advantage to get access to the solenoid directly. I have some ideas of how to boost the shutter actuation in order to get faster shutter speeds than 1/32.

My question is quite simple: Anybody know anything about this shutter? Any information would be appreciated. Thank you.

Bjorn

ic-racer
10-Dec-2010, 13:50
Looks interesting if you can make a timing circuit for it. But you will be on your own.

In terms of the Packard shutter, they are pretty popular, and may be still available new.

BarryS
10-Dec-2010, 14:05
Those shutters seem like more trouble than they're worth. If you want a Petzval to cover 5x7, you're looking at a 9" lens. The original Petzval design is an f/3.8 lens, so that would be an approximate aperture of 60mm--and the electric shutter only has a 40mm aperture. It's too small. Better to find a larger normal Packard that doesn't require a power source and a black box to take a picture.

rannestad
10-Dec-2010, 14:12