PDA

View Full Version : Gray spots in Schneider lens

Tri-X
3-Dec-2010, 09:14
Hi, everyone. this is my first post here. I am just getting started in large format photography, after years of shooting in 35mm and 120 formats.

I recently acquired a Schneider 120mm f/8 Super Angulon lens for my Deardorff 5x7 camera - I got the lens used from "a well known camera store located in New York City," shall we say. This lens was rated at 9+ and looks like it has been used very little, if any. It looks like a new lens.

Here's my question/concern: When inspecting the lens, I shined a flashlight into the front element and noticed gray spots (alot of them) on the black metal parts inside the lens. I'm wondering if these gray spots will cause degrade my image quality or if they will cause other problems down the road. The lens has a 90 day warranty from the seller, so I can send it back to have it repaired, if these gray spots are something I should be concerned about.

Any information that anyone can pass along on this situation I have with this lens will be greatly appreciated.

Steven Tribe
3-Dec-2010, 09:25
This is known as Schneideritis. Degradation of the mat black enamel. Is found on other manufacturers' lenses too. Other must comment on influence/treatment.
Use the search function.

Gem Singer
3-Dec-2010, 09:28
"Schneideritis".

A common ailment. The black paint around edges of the lens elements flakes off.

Will not effect the image quality, but does affect the re-sale value of the lens.

Steven Tribe
3-Dec-2010, 09:48
Sounds like "condition is 9+ - apart from the fairly bad case of Schneideritis".

Tri-X
3-Dec-2010, 11:15
Use the search function. I did use the search function before I made my post. "Schneider gray spots" produced no results.

I had never heard the term "schneideritis" until now.

Kevin Crisp
3-Dec-2010, 11:45