PDA

View Full Version : Help: Color developing thin/blank

Nobady
2-Dec-2010, 18:03
Wow I just found this site lol, would of been nice to know at the beginning of the semester, but oh well. Yes I am a photo student :) and this being my first advanced class, I am being forced to use this dreadful camera. It's been hell. My school doesn't have enough to go around for the class, so we all have to share a camera and my friend and I tend to shoot together and have experienced the same problems.

We've been through 2 cameras, 2 boxes of black and white and an entire box of color and maybe gotten half a box of decent negatives. That's a lot of money and time, mostly money..

Well I really want to rant right now lol, but maybe yall can help my friend and I with our color blues. We are using Kodak Portra 160 NC and getting it developed at E-Six. Shooting different days, inside, outside, cloudy weather, light rain, cold, warm, backwards, forwards, upside down and sideways. We've even had our teacher, who has been very understanding, watch us and found nothing wrong with our shooting process, but the result is the same.

Blank Negatives. Some of them have a hint of something, but the negative is soo thin, that it just scans black and/or is not salvageable.

I'll give some back story I guess, first camera first project b&w, went through most of a box and experienced the same issues (only we develop b&w at school). Got a new box and the issue we were having was to be blamed on the bellows not locking and staying locked, same camera/new bellows and managed to pull out some okay negatives. Second project, color with strobes, got blanks. Tried again with teacher present did a test run - blanks again. Skipped second project. Third project, new camera (assumed shutter was the failure with the first camera) with strobes, b&w, shoots okay. Fourth project, color, blanks/thin negatives (more blank then thin). We did shoot b&w for the fourth project, but haven't yet developed it.