PDA

View Full Version : 5x7 camera choice

Robert A. Zeichner
27-May-2002, 08:43
Well, after much deliberation, I've decided I would like to try working in 5x7 m ore regularly. While I have had some experience using an old Century Grand Sr. that I've modified, I now am in need of a camera that will function more like my Wisner Traditional 4x5. Logic would dictate that I simply buy a 5x7 version of that same model, but I'd like to get something light in weight and I know there are other cameras out there that might be worth considering. Rigidity and long bellows draw are a requirement. Anyone with Canham woodfield experience out th ere? Other suggestions? Oh, almost forgot, the Wisner only has a 115mm minimum on the bellows and that creates a problem for me in that I use a 110 XL.

Bill_1856
27-May-2002, 10:56
I've had the hots for a 5x7 camera for some time. After studying everything I can find on the web and asking around, I decided to give myself a GANDOLFI Traditional for my 70th birthday (which comes up a lot sooner than I really wish). The quality is at least as good, and perhaps even better, than the Ebony, while the price is competative with Wisner and Canham, and the weight and rigidity are exceptional. Meanwhile, I've bought a 45/57 extension back from Dan Smith to tide me over.

Asher Galloway
27-May-2002, 11:46
I have a Canham Metal 5x7 camera.It is lighter than most of the wooden cameras,very rigid,and has 24 inches of bellows extension.I have the 4x5 reduction back for it,and they are developing a panoramic back for it 5x12 or larger I can't remember.Having the 600mm of bellows draw is a big advantage over trying to modify a 4x5 camera.I regularly use a 450 mm RD Artar which would be some what limited on a 4x5 bellows.The only wide angle lens I use is a 159 mm Extreme Wide Angle Velostigmat.I don't know how well it works with a lens needing a bellows.Good Shooting

clay harmon
27-May-2002, 11:47