PDA

View Full Version : What if I don't have enough boxes to take to the lab?

dikaiosune01
23-Nov-2010, 08:29
Admitance:
I am new to Large Format Photography. I have mostly worked with 35mm and have done my own processing; plus the occassional lab with slides.

I've already found a highly recommended lab that is accessible (sort of). However, I don't have enough boxes to take to the lab. I plan on processing some B/W and slides with them. However I won't be emptying the box immediately. Some film will be saved for backup once i get my initial results back. I can't give them my darkslide. They dont' have anywhere to put it either...

I'm looking for a solution to transport my film to the processor. I don't have any extra boxes. ANd darkslides seem infeasible.

gary mulder
23-Nov-2010, 08:38
If we know where you are a member could send you some boxes. I have more than enough. But sending them over half the globe does not seem right.

dikaiosune01
23-Nov-2010, 09:31
Hong Kong
send me a PM if you are so inclined. I would be very greatful. Thanks

Fred L
23-Nov-2010, 10:25
just wondering how hard it would be to make one's own three part boxes ala kodak ? figured some black matt board and black tape. and a sharp exacto knife.

Frank Petronio
23-Nov-2010, 10:27
Ask the lab for boxes.

ROL
23-Nov-2010, 10:32
I'm looking for a solution to transport my film to the processor. I don't have any extra boxes. ANd darkslides seem infeasible.

Nobody really does when starting with LF sheet film. Here are 2 possible solutions:
1) If you print at all, use 8X10 paper boxes with their dark bags, maybe taping the outside of the boxes with dark tape.
2) Buy the cheapest film of the size you are using in the least amount possible from any source and chuck the film just for the boxes.

Bob Kerner
23-Nov-2010, 14:29
This is a pretty common question; I should know I asked it here about a month ago.