PDA

View Full Version : Ground glass for ultra large camera. How thick ?

alex from holland
16-Nov-2010, 06:09
Hi all,

what would you suggest as a max thickness for a ground glass of a ultra large camera.
The ground glass is going to be about 20 x 20 inch.
I would prefer 2mm but that is going to be too thin ??

alex

Walter Calahan
16-Nov-2010, 07:38
That sound too thin for such a large camera. Not that I have any experience larger than 8x10.

BrianShaw
16-Nov-2010, 07:42
I have no experience with format that large, but even with 4x5 would be concerned that 2mm may be too fragile. Also, may bow and throw your focus off when you put a loupe to it. Since the ground side is toward the lens the thickness shouldn't matter too much. I'd err toward increasing the odds of survivability and go thicker.

GPS
16-Nov-2010, 08:30
Hi all,

what would you suggest as a max thickness for a ground glass of a ultra large camera.

alex

After some checking up on it - the "normal" classical home windows in Europe have 3 mm thickness. They are washed/touched with no special precautions, hence...etc.

bobwysiwyg
16-Nov-2010, 10:17
As far as I know, here it the U.S., a typical window pane is 1/8th inch thick which is a hair over 3mm also. And, as noted, take a fair amount of "use" over a pane area much larger than a GG.

Jay DeFehr
16-Nov-2010, 11:28
Alex,

The thinner, the better, as far as brightness goes. For what it's worth, a view screen doesn't have to be glass. A thin sheet of plastic stretched over a frame, like the head of a drum, for instance, would do just as well, and be much brighter, lighter, and much less fragile. This is a feature of all my lightweight camera designs.

GPS
16-Nov-2010, 11:39
Jay, just plainly curious - what kind of plastic you have in mind that can be stretched so tightly that it doesn't bow under a loupe pressuring on it?

Vaughn
16-Nov-2010, 11:40