PDA

View Full Version : generic Technika board not tight on Master Technika

Jordan
13-Nov-2010, 21:09
I have a Master Technika and bought a new generic (Shen Hao version) copal 0 board for it after the Toyo version of the Technika board was too tight and then too loose after being filed down. Now it seems the new one is too loose. There is slop and I want none. Can anyone recommend the exact board for the Master Technika. Thanks in advance people.

Jack Dahlgren
13-Nov-2010, 21:16
Try a technika board. Or put a bit of tape around the edges of the one you have.

Jordan
13-Nov-2010, 21:41
Thanks Jack. Those certainly are two options. Which Technika board in particular? Has anyone had any better luck with one generic than another? I feel like I've read that older Technika boards don't quite fit newer Technika models as well. There is a brand that Richard Phillips sold to me with my Explorer that fit nicely, but I can't tell which they are and I only have those in copal 1 and 3.

Bob Salomon
13-Nov-2010, 22:08
Jordan

Several years ago Linhof put in new CNC milling machines and greatly tightened up the tolerances for the lens boards on their cameras. The tolerances became so tight that you might have to scrape a layer or two of paint off the edges of older boards to make them fit properly on a modern Linhof.

As to which board you need it depends on what lens you have and what shutter it is in and if you do or do not want a cable release quick coupling on the board if it is flat and for a 0 or 1 shutter.

Jim Noel
15-Nov-2010, 13:10
Don't buy a generic, buy a Technika board. There are ridges on it which I have never seen on a generic or Toyo.

Jordan
14-Mar-2011, 19:40
Will an official Wista technika board be almost as good as a Linhof? Sorry to bring up an old thread, but instead of starting a new one, I decided to add. I need an extra copal 0 lensboard for a master technika still.

Bob Salomon
15-Mar-2011, 02:12