PDA

View Full Version : Labeling Negatives

Bob Kerner
13-Nov-2010, 15:54
How do you label your negatives so you can identify them in the future? Do you write on the edges with a ultra-fine marker, label the negative sleeve or something else?

I'm just getting into this and realize I don't have an efficient and effective system once my negatives return from the lab. My master plan is to develop, scan for review (contact sheets) and archiving and then file the keepers in an archival sleeve. I want to tag the scans and the negatives with an ID so I can find them if I ever want a wet print.

I read somewhere about using a fine tipped marker to label the edges of the film. I'm fine with that but want to have other input before I implement a system.

Thank you.

rfesk
13-Nov-2010, 16:57
For really archival marking use an archival marker.

I suggest you use a pigmented ink. I understand that india ink is pigmented. It should last as long as the negative

I mark my negatives on the edges by date. Sometimes add some notes as to place or event.

Mark Woods
13-Nov-2010, 20:13
I make a note on the neg with a red fine Rapidograph. The date and an A,B,C indicator is noted. The neg goes into a file folder with the exposure information and whatever print information exists. It's filed under the title or the content -- depending on what is more "memorable" (i.e., what I can remember).

Hope this helps.

Bob Kerner
13-Nov-2010, 20:36
I make a note on the neg with a red fine Rapidograph. The date and an A,B,C indicator is noted. The neg goes into a file folder with the exposure information and whatever print information exists. It's filed under the title or the content -- depending on what is more "memorable" (i.e., what I can remember).

Hope this helps.

What size pen? I ask because at +$20 for a single pen at my local art shop, I want to buy the right one!

Any reason for red versus black? I read somewhere that black will print as white on a contact sheet.

Oren Grad