PDA

View Full Version : Drilling Graphic lens boards on a micro lathe

BarryS
10-Nov-2010, 13:43
I bought a well-used Micro Lathe (http://www.taigtools.com/mlathe.html) a few months ago and it's time for it to earn it's keep. I need to bore holes in some aluminum Graphic lens boards and if my little lathe can't do it--it may be headed to the bottom of the Potomac. :)

The chuck on the lathe is too small and unsuited to hold the boards, but I was thinking of a making a small wood jig--basically a square wood block that fits snugly within the lip of the lens board, attached to a wood cylinder that will fit into the chuck. Two screws and wood glue would be used to attach the cylinder to the block, and the board would be screwed to the block through a small center pilot hole.

Being that I have no lathe experience, I though I'd get some input before I tear off any of my appendages or put out an eye. Does my plan sound workable? Any better ideas? How about optimal speed and best cutting tool? Thanks.

Barry

Jack Dahlgren
10-Nov-2010, 13:55
I bought a well-used Micro Lathe (http://www.taigtools.com/mlathe.html) a few months ago and it's time for it to earn it's keep. I need to bore holes in some aluminum Graphic lens boards and if my little lathe can't do it--it may be headed to the bottom of the Potomac. :)

The chuck on the lathe is too small and unsuited to hold the boards, but I was thinking of a making a small wood jig--basically a square wood block that fits snugly within the lip of the lens board, attached to a wood cylinder that will fit into the chuck. Two screws and wood glue would be used to attach the cylinder to the block, and the board would be screwed to the block through a small center pilot hole.

Being that I have no lathe experience, I though I'd get some input before I tear off any of my appendages or put out an eye. Does my plan sound workable? Any better ideas? How about optimal speed and best cutting tool? Thanks.

Barry