PDA

View Full Version : Linhof-Kardan Color 45S (Considering Trade)

mfratt
4-Nov-2010, 21:45
Hi All,
I'm new to these forums and pretty new to LF photography in general, so let me give a quick overview of where I'm coming from before I get into my question.

I'm a sophomore photography major at the Massachusetts College of Art in Boston. Up until recently, I shot exclusively digital - until my black and white large format class gave me a proper introduction to processing and printing film (the actual use of the camera came pretty naturally to me once I started toying around with it). Anyway, I love shooting LF (and have picked up a Rolleiflex Automat for somewhat more portable use), and have actually grown very bored of using my Canon 50D in general.

My school loans us Cadet 4x5 monorails for use during this LF class. I think those cameras are kind of... poorly built, to put it lightly, but still a lot of fun to use and can produce fantastic photos. Beside the fact that I have to return the Cadet at semester's end, I'd like to get a 4x5 of my own.

Here begins my inquiry.

I have the opportunity to trade my Canon 10-22mm lens (new retail ~$800, I am trying to sell it for $650) for a Linhof Kardan Color 45S (Whats the idea with putting "color" in the name?) with "lenses and accessories (film holders, bag bellows, Linhof tripod etc.)." I'm waiting for a response email with details on the lenses and accessories, but I'm wondering if at first sight this seems like a good deal or not.