PDA

View Full Version : Goerz Dagor 6 1/2" f6.8 question

Nathan Appel
3-Nov-2010, 00:26
Hi, I am very new to large format and antique lenses. I picked up a kodak autographic 3A with a Dagor 6.5" f6.8 lens in a volute shutter. The shutter sounds pretty good, even at slower speeds.
My Goal: I would like to use this lens to do portraits with a home made 4x5 camera, do you think there will be ample 4x5 coverage? I have found very little information on this lens. How is it compared to the later model dagors? Thanks,
Nate

Dan Fromm
3-Nov-2010, 03:07
There are many conflicting reports about f/6.8 Dagors' coverage. Some high, others not so high. They all agree that a 6 1/2 incher will cover 4x5 with room for movements.

There are many conflicting reports about f/6.8 Dagors' image quality. Yours should be better than good enough.

Now ask it what it can do for you. You have it, no one else has that lens. None of us knows for sure how good your example is (or isn't).

Fotoguy20d
3-Nov-2010, 05:41
I've become a big fan of Dagors for their coverage abililty and the image quality - I now have a 5" and a 9 1/5". I use a 5" lens on 4x5 and it covers nicely when stopped down to f16 or so (I usually stop it down to f22-f32 anyway) so you'll have no problem with the 6 1/2" covering. The 240mm, by the way, will cover 8x10. I find the coverage tends to agree with Goerz's published figures, which can be found in their catalogs on the Camera Eccentric (http://www.cameraeccentric.com)site. Don't forget that you can use them converted - one cell yields approximately 1.8x the focal length at a similar multiplier to the aperture.

Dan

Lynn Jones
3-Nov-2010, 12:52
All of the American made Dagors (you can tell because they are in inches) covered 65 degrees at f22 focused at infinity.

Lynn

domaz
3-Nov-2010, 15:20
I have an early Schneider 165mm Dagor 6.8 and it covers 5x7 with at least a little movements. Unless the Goerz is drastically differently it should probably cover 4x5 well.