PDA

View Full Version : First Large Format Setup

Zaitz
17-Oct-2010, 20:00
Hello, first post here. Was hoping someone here could help me out. I have never used large format before, obviously. I've read through Ansel's books and have an ok idea of what I need/want. I was wondering if these items work together.

I was looking at a Cambo SCII for my first large format camera. Since I will be doing mostly landscapes I figured a wide angle would be good first.

lens: 75 F6.8 CALTAR II-N COPAL BULB, TIME (35 MOUNT)

Lens board:
Calumet 4x5 Wide-Angle Recessed Lensboard(4x4)
Used for Calumet 4x5 Camera System
designed for a Wide Angle Optic
35mm hole

Will everything here work perfectly? A bag bellows isn't needed with the recessed board is it? Movements may be limited is my best guess but should work ok? Unfortunately I cannot see the classifieds here yet so that is not an option for gear. The lens is also a bit more than I want to spend at $399.

Thanks for any help.

Jack Dahlgren
17-Oct-2010, 20:06
That is pretty wide for a first lens. You will have an easier time of focusing, operating the camera and learning camera movements if you pick something in the 120-180mm range.

Those should work without a recessed lensboard and bag bellows.

When you get the hang of it, then pop for a wide angle.

BarryS
17-Oct-2010, 20:15
I highly suggest you do some further reading and research before buying anything. You could start with Large Format Nature Photography by Jack Dykinga. I agree that a 75mm lens isn't the best choice for your first lens. Starting with a longer lens that allows movements will be better for learning how to effectively use a view camera.

aduncanson
17-Oct-2010, 22:42
The 4x4 Calumet boards are for the original Calumet (round rail) cameras, not the Cambo SCII. Cambo cameras use a 6 3/8 inch (162mm) square lens board.