PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for traveling without enough film holders

bvaughn4
7-Oct-2010, 17:56
Hi all, If this has been covered, I apologize. Did a quick search but nothing came up.

I am going to take a short trip and plan to shoot - possibly more images than I have film holders for. I have a changing bag but my question is - if you make all these meticulous notes about your shot, then want to swap out a few exposed films, how do I keep up with what is what once I put it back into a film box for transport home?

Being a newb, I have been shooting 2 pieces of film in case of poor exposure or scratched negative. So, if I found out one of my shots needed some manipulation during processing, how would I know which image in the stack was my extra aside from them being side by side in the box?

Thanks
Bill

ki6mf
7-Oct-2010, 18:15
If you shoot back up negatives for B&W; put the first exposure in boxes marked N, N-1, N-2 N-3, Compensating. For the second negative order 5x7 mailing envelopes poly black poly bags from freesstyle photo at this URL http://www.freestylephoto.biz/5857-Envelope-and-Black-Bag-Set-5x7?cat_id=1603

Cost is $.59 each. Order as many as needed.

bvaughn4
7-Oct-2010, 18:19
Thanks Wally

Heroique
7-Oct-2010, 18:38
And for others traveling w/ envelope film (Quick Loads, etc.), you can use the envelope’s factory-stamped number to help organize your notes about it. Sometimes I’ll write brief notes directly onto the envelope … carefully!

On one trip with traditional holders, I had just one film-storage box, so I had to make careful notes about which sheet was on top, which sheet was underneath that one, etc. When I got home, first thing I did was split the sheets into multiple boxes; otherwise, I just knew I’d either lose my notes, or the notes would, eventually, stop making sense to me. I learned the hard way that splitting multiple sheets into multiple boxes, in the dark, is more “dangerous” than it sounds.

BetterSense
7-Oct-2010, 19:22