PDA

View Full Version : D.O.F Question?

mandonbossi
5-Oct-2010, 05:16
Hi, I am new to this forum and was hoping someone could help a little with a few questions with regards to D.O.F (or lack of).

Be warned, this may a really stupid, basic question as I am still very new to all of this..

I have a Chamonix 45 and use a Sinar Roll Film back as well.. One that is able to change from 645 format to 612. If you were shooting in a horizontal format is it fair to say that D.O.F is the same across all formats? 67, 69 and 612? And that this only changes when you place the back in a vertical position?

If you were shooting a landscape for example in horizontal format, you could get equivalent sharpness from front to back with say f16 while if you kept the same camera position but changed the back to vertical, then you would need a much smaller aperture (say f32 or so) to obtain sharpness..

Is anyone else able to clarify this? Or am I totally missing something here?

Ok, thanks so much. Look forward to hearing from you. best Mandon

mandonbossi
5-Oct-2010, 05:24
Ooops, the other question I had on a similar front is not so much largeformat related but i hope someone can still help me. I am looking at getting a Makina 67 rangefinder that has an 80mm 2.8 lens. If you were shooting this wide open would it give a similar look in terms of the "lack of depth" to say the Mamiya RZ 110mm 2.8, which is considered the "standard" lens for that camera? or a Hasselblad 80mm 2.8 (I realise this is square format) The images I see with the Hasselblad 80mm 2.8 when shot wide open seems to have a very dramatic drop off but i don't see these examples so much with the rangefinders.. I have to admit that this is only going off things seen on flickr, which is my main reference for examples of the "look" of different lenses..

I was looking at the Mamiya 7 but the 80mm is only a f4 and doesn't have a very dramatic drop off in depth..

Or are rangefinders different somehow?