PDA

View Full Version : What would I get if I put a 90mm front and 180mm rear together?

bmgmusic
6-May-2002, 15:46
Do I still have a 90mm wide angle meanwhile the bellow length at infinite become s 180mm?

Jerry Flynn
6-May-2002, 16:56
Assuming you could actually do this, you'd get an entirely different focal length in between the 90 and 180. This is how covertable plasmats work - like the Protars and pre "Symmar-S" Symmars. However, the elements in those lenses were designed to work together. I'm not an expert in optics, but I don't think you can take any old set of cells like from a Super Angulon and a Symmar and put them together and get someting that works.

RichardRitter
6-May-2002, 19:15
Why not try it and let us all know how it works out. You may have something that could be the new fad in photography.

Bill C
6-May-2002, 20:29
Aaron, the general rule with combining lenses is that powers add, where "power" is a measurement of the same general type as diopters.

Assuming that when you say a "90mm front", you mean you are using a lens that functions as though it has a 90mm focal length, etc, combining the two should give you roughly a 60mm focal length. I say roughly, because the general rule I gave assumes that there is no distance between the two lenses. More than likely, you will have SOME distance between them which will weaken (I think) the effect slightly, so focal length is probably slightly greater than 60mm.

FWIW, the calculation I used is: new_fl = 1/(1/fl_front + 1/fl_back).

Also, I don't think anyone could say for sure what the final image quality or size of the image circle would be. Have fun experimenting.

paul owen
7-May-2002, 03:19
One, crazy, mixed-up lens!!!! Give it a try - Good luck!!

Dick Roadnight
7-May-2002, 18:20
What do you want it to do?

I think that if you stack an entire 90 reversed on the front of a 180, you get a 2X macro lens, without needing a great deal of extention.

bmgmusic
8-May-2002, 02:03